Post-COVID Evictions in Texas: A Best Practice Guide

Post-COVID Evictions in Texas: A Best Practice Guide

Up until July 2023, the state of Texas paid out $2.2 billion in rental assistance to help people facing post-COVID evictions keep their homes.

Now that this assistance program has ended, the procedure for evictions goes back to how it was before 2020. Texas has strict laws surrounding evictions, and you must follow the correct procedure if you need to evict a tenant in this state.

Keep reading to find out what you need to know about the eviction process in Coppell, TX.

Legal Reasons for Post-COVID Evictions

There are limited instances where a landlord may evict their tenants. In Texas, these are:

  • Failure to pay rent
  • Non-renewal of an expired tenancy agreement
  • Lease violations
  • Extreme damages to the rental property
  • Criminal activity on the property

Evidence of these shortcomings doesn't entitle the landlord to prevent their tenant from occupying the property. The only way you can do that is by following the correct eviction procedure.

The Eviction Process in Texas

There are several steps involved in the Texas eviction process, and you must follow them precisely to ensure a successful outcome. This is how it works:

Written Notice to Vacate

You must give the tenant the correct notice to vacate, depending on their offense. The minimum amount of time to rectify their error or leave is three days.

In some cases, the CARES Act mandates 30 days' notice for participants in federal programs. If the tenant does not comply with the notice, the landlord proceeds to the next step.

Filing an Eviction Suit

The landlord must file an eviction suit with their local court. A hearing won't take place until 10 days after filing.


Once the judge has handed down their decision at the hearing, both parties have time to appeal. The usual time frame is five days.

The Appeal Process

If either party appeals the judge's decision, the court schedules another hearing. This hearing can't take place until eight days later.

Issuing the Writ of Possession

The landlord can request a writ of possession after the judge issues a final judgment. The local constable must give the tenant a 24-hour eviction notice before removing them from the landlord's premises.

This long-winded process ensures that both parties have enough opportunity to state their case, but it can result in considerable financial losses for the landlord.

Preventing Evictions

There are a few things landlords can do to limit the chances of having to undergo the lengthy eviction process. Tenant screening is a good way to ensure you only place tenants with a good record in your home.

It makes sense to try and avoid tenants by communicating with them about any issues you have or giving them some leeway with late rent payments occasionally.

A little leniency during hard times can help you avoid the costly process of evicting your current tenant and finding a new one.

Avoid Evictions With Expert Property Management

Post-COVID evictions can be tricky to navigate on your own. PMI Cowboys Realty can help you avoid the unpleasantness, risks, and expenses associated with evictions.

We offer comprehensive tenant screening processes, property inspections, and rent collection procedures to help you find good tenants and ensure they comply with their lease agreement.

Get in touch today to discuss your property management needs in Coppell, TX.